The BWWG Announces Gary Timm as Core Member

June 30, 2015


June 26, 2015

For Immediate Release

The Broadcast Warning Working Group (BWWG) takes great pleasure in announcing our newest Core Member, Gary Timm.

As many Emergency Alert System (EAS) stakeholders know, Gary has been one of the most thoughtful, constructive, contributive and dedicated people working towards EAS improvement from the start. Gary has been and continues to be the Chair of the Wisconsin State Emergency Communications Committee (SECC), a position he has held since the creation of the EAS by the FCC on December 9, 1994, more than 20 years ago.

Gary most recently was an EAS subject expert consultant for SRA International. He was, like several other Core Members of the BWWG who sponsor the EAS Forum and the EAS remailer, a former member of the Society of Broadcast Engineers (SBE) EAS Committee, a valued member of the FCC’s EAS National Advisory Committee (NAC), and a participant in the FCC’s ongoing CSRIC, The Communications Security, Reliability and Interoperability Council. While on the SBE EAS Committee, Gary was the principal author of a seminal document regarding the Common Alerting Protocol (CAP), the EAS CAP Roadmap. That document called for the formation of a number of specific working groups to flesh out various sections of the CAP EAS.

Gary immediately began his BWWG participation as the principal author of suggestions to the FCC on EAS improvements now that the FCC has released Sixth Report and Order. That document has been sent to the Commission and will be available on the EAS Forum website soon.

The Core members of the BWWG are:

Adrienne Abbott, Chair, NV SECC

Clay Freinwald, Chair, WA SECC

Suzanne Goucher, President, Maine Association of Broadcasters

Barry Mishkind, Editor, Broadcasters Desktop Resource

David Ostmo, Director of Engineering, KABB/KMYS-TV

Richard Rudman, Vice Chair, CA SECC

Gary Timm, Broadcast Chair, WI SECC

Sharon Tinsley, President, Alabama Broadcasters’ Association


For More Information:

Richard Rudman 213-447-5392

Barry Mishkind 520-296-3797